Skip to content
May 3, 2012 / scottbwilbanks

So, I’ve gone and done it.  I’ve started a blog.  The motivating factor is pretty simple, really.  I want to enter a writing contest that requires me to post my query and the first 250 words of my manuscript as a blog entry.  Here’s the rub.  I haven’t a clue what I’m doing.   Last night was a pretty hilarious example.  I set my alarm for 12:45 AM (yes, you read that correctly) in order to submit my entry into the contest via a “Mr. Linky’s Magical Widgets”–by the way, you are way ahead of me if the two of you are acquainted–that would be posted at precisely 9:00 AM on four coordinated blogspots.  You may ask why I set my alarm for 1:00 AM, then?  Well, I live in New Zealand.  The date line is an unforgiving mistress.  And technology is worse…  Mr. Linky wanted my URL address, and by the time I figured out he required *http://* in my string, all the slots were filled.  Wow!  Never fear!  I will try again at 1:00 PM.

Anyhoo…  Until I get this thing figured out, here’s a rendering I made of my book’s protagonist using magic markers.  Her name is Anastasia Biddleton.  If the image looks vaguely familiar, look up the portfolio of Mary Cassatt–the famed American impressionist.  I kinda borrowed the image from her brain pan, but it evokes the sentimentality surrounding Annie.

Until next time…

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. T.L. Bodine / May 10 2012 9:34 pm

    You’ve won the sunshine award! This is a blogging award to bring some sunshine (and a bit of camaaderie) to your blog and pay it forward. Details on my blog here: http://tlbodine.blogspot.com/2012/05/sunshine-award.html

Leave a Reply

